Become a Domestic/ Family Violence Advocate

In the state of California those who are interested in becoming Domestic Family/ Intimate Partner Violence (DF/IPV) Advocates must complete 40-hours of training as stated by evidence code 1037.1. Project Peacemakers provides these classes at 77th Police Division. During the classes, the history of Domestic Violence will be covered along with the laws, restraining orders, completion and filing, counseling, crisis intervention, the dynamics of Domestic Violence, Shelter services, challenges of the disabled community, challenges of the LGBTQ community, the nexus between gangs and Domestic Violence, just to name a few.

 

They also:

  • Inform the survivor about her or his rights and options

  • Provide and assist with Domestic Family/Intimate Partner Violence (DF/IPV) Temporary Restraining Order (TRO)

  • Go to court with the survivor if needed

  • Help with shelter placement

  • Offer resource information

This training is not only good for those who want to volunteer at the agencies but those who are involved with their neighborhood watches, at their places of worship, schools that their children may attend, places of employment, and other community organizations. Experienced trauma plays a huge part in the relationships that are affected by DF/IPV.

Through the ACES's studies, trauma from an early age opens the avenue for victims and abusers to become statistics. No experience is required. You’ll be trained by multi-disciplinary professionals, experienced volunteers, survivors and PPMI staff to ensure you learn everything you need to know. The 40-hr classes are held on Tuesdays in the Spring and Fall, from 6:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Fee for the class is $300, which includes dinner at every class. At the time of registration $100 of the total fee must be paid, and is non-refundable after the first class begins. The complete $200 balance must be paid by the end of the sixth week class.

Call the office at (323) 291-2525 for exact start dates and registration. For those who are interested in volunteering at PPMI after the completion of one year (a minimum of two evenings a week), $200 of the training fee will be refunded. 

If you are in the Los Angeles area and want to get involved, you can also volunteer as a counselor/advocate. You need to be at least 18 years old and willing to meet the following requirements:​

  • Give a one-year commitment, beginning at the conclusion of the training course

  • Complete 40-hour Domestic Violence Advocate training

  • Must be able to pay a $300 training fee. $200 of the training fee will be refunded at the end of a one- year commitment with PPMI.

  • Pass a Live Scan background check

  • Have a valid California driver’s license, reliable transportation and insurance coverage

  • Volunteer at least 16 hours a month 

  • Attend monthly in-service meetings